top of page

Koshas Demystified: A Contemporary Yogi's Guide to Understanding and Working with the Five Sheaths

Updated: Sep 25, 2023

Written by Andrew H. Housley

Understanding and Nurturing the Five Sheaths for Holistic Wellness

Hey yogis! I'm here to talk to you about koshas today. Yes, those sheaths or layers of the human being that make us all so complicated and fascinating. Are you ready to dive deep into the layers of your being? No, I'm not talking about your winter coat and fuzzy socks. I'm talking about the koshas, those pesky sheaths that make us all so complicated and fascinating. Because let's face it, if yoga was just about stretching, we'd all be done by now. But luckily, there's a lot more to it than that, and the concept of koshas can help us deepen our practice and understanding of ourselves.

The concept of koshas is discussed in the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali, one of the foundational texts of classical yoga. In particular, the idea of the five koshas is mentioned in the Taittiriya Upanishad, an ancient Hindu scripture that predates the Yoga Sutras and which Patanjali may have drawn upon in his teachings.

In the Yoga Sutras, the koshas are not discussed at length, but they are referenced in Sutra II.20, which states: "The seer is pure consciousness. Though pure, it appears to take on the nature of the intellect, the sense organs, and the objects of perception due to its association with them. This is the cause of the identification of the seer with the seen. The seer is not identified with the sheaths (koshas) since they are perceived."

This sutra suggests that the ultimate goal of yoga is to recognize the pure consciousness of the self, which is distinct from the layers or sheaths of the body-mind complex. By disidentifying with the koshas, or sheaths, one can move towards a state of liberation or enlightenment, in which the true nature of the self is revealed.

So what exactly are these koshas? Well, according to the ancient yogic texts, there are five of them, each one encompassing and interpenetrating the next. Here they are, in all their glory:

Annamaya kosha: This is the physical sheath or layer, which includes our body and all its physical processes. Basically, it's the meat suit we're all walking around in. And while we may not be able to control everything that happens in our bodies, we can certainly take care of them. Eating healthy food, getting enough sleep, and moving our bodies regularly are all ways to nourish and support our Annamaya kosha.

Pranamaya kosha: This is the energy sheath or layer, which includes our breath and all the subtle energy systems in our body. In yoga, we often talk about prana, which is the life force or energy that animates everything. By focusing on our breath and practicing pranayama, or breathing techniques, we can help regulate and balance our Pranamaya kosha.

Manomaya kosha: This is the mental sheath or layer, which includes our thoughts, emotions, and perceptions. And let's face it; this one can be a doozy. Our minds are constantly chattering away, and sometimes it feels like we have no control over them. But by practicing mindfulness, meditation, and self-inquiry, we can start to develop a more positive and peaceful relationship with our Manomaya kosha.

Vijnanamaya kosha: This is the wisdom sheath or layer, which includes our intellect and higher mental faculties, such as intuition and discernment. This is where we start to move beyond the realm of the everyday mind and tap into something deeper and more intuitive. By cultivating a regular meditation practice and trusting our inner wisdom, we can access and develop our Vijnanamaya kosha.

Anandamaya kosha: This is the bliss sheath or layer, which is said to be the deepest and most subtle of all the koshas. It represents the inherent joy and peace that underlies all experience. And while it may sound a bit lofty or abstract, we can actually start to tap into this state by cultivating gratitude, joy, and compassion in our daily lives. By focusing on the good things and connecting with others, we can awaken our Anandamaya kosha and experience more joy and contentment. So go ahead, give someone a hug, pet a dog, or eat some chocolate.

So there you have it, yogis! The five koshas and how to work with them in your daily life. By taking care of your physical body, regulating your breath, calming your mind, accessing your intuition, and cultivating joy, you can start to connect with the deeper aspects of yourself and experience more peace and fulfillment.

Recent Posts

See All


About Andrew

Andrew Profile

At the age 17, through the guidance of his older brother Chris, he discovered the path of Buddhism. His journey with the practice has taken him across oceans and deep within himself. As a Zen bodhisattva, he works towards helping others find their own path without reward.


Posts Archive

Keep Our Friends
Close & Our Posts Closer.

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page